« Go Back

Diploma in Information Security (Cyber Security) - Level 3Apply Now »

Course Image
Level: 3

Location: Joseph Wright Centre

Years: 2

Adult Loan Amount: 5421.00****

Interview: Y

Course Summary

This Level 3 Diploma provides the skills and knowledge needed to become a professional in the field of information security, which includes cyber security. It is the only vocational qualification within the Advanced Apprenticeship in Information Security framework.

Entry requirements

The Level 3 Diploma in Information Security (Cyber Security) qualification is perfect for those looking to gain some in-depth skills and knowledge to start a career in an IT security job role.

You will need five GCSEs, which must include English and/or Maths at grade 4 or above.

A Computer Science based qualification is also desirable.

Course Content

For the Level 3 Diploma in Information Security, students will be expected to undertake mandatory elements including developing their own effectiveness and professionalism; health and safety; and principles of information governance and assurance.

They will then select from a range of competency units that include such areas as security testing, security incident investigation, security audits, system operation, and investigating and defining customer requirements.

In addition there are knowledge units that include topics such as secure system development, system and data security, data modelling, and networking principles.

How will I be assessed?

The Level 3 Diploma in Information Security offers a mix of technical knowledge and practical units, with students being assessed through the use of City & Guilds assignments where available or through a portfolio of evidence. The competence units look specifically at how the student performs in the workplace.

Are there any additional costs or specialist equipment required?


What can I do after this course?

Further Study

Those who successfully complete the Level 3 Diploma in Information Security could progress to the Level 3 Diploma in IT Systems and Principles here at Derby College to make this a two-year programme. They could then advance to the Level 4 Foundation Degree in Computing delivered at the College's Joseph Wright Campus.


You could secure a junior role within teams that undertake network security development, information assurance, penetration testing or secure systems development.

Did you find the course information on this page useful?


This course is run at the Joseph Wright Centre

About Joseph Wright Centre »

Go to top